[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/lit/ - Literature

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: file.png (3.96 MB, 1920x1080)
3.96 MB
3.96 MB PNG
>Last book you read
>Current book
>Thought? Are you doing a study of anything in particular?
>>
Extension du domaine de la lutte
Les Soirées de Médan
I am studying French and also French naturalism
I'm having a good time
>>
>Last Book
Enquiry on Human Understanding
>Current Book
Essay on human understanding
>Thought?
Trying to learn more about Anglo philosophy specifically. DESU I found not much disagreeable in Hume's Enquiry. It seemed much less like a philosophy and more like a starting point for philosophical research, correcting the overstatements and mistakes of previous systems. I don't think the "bundles of ideas" can adequately account for how we come to a clear framing of universals.
>>
>last book
Train Dreams. It was a good story but lacked much depth beyond vague allusions towards ideas of self. It was short enough that its faults did not detract much but those faults leave me not very interested reading Johnson more, probably will read Tree of Smoke still since it did win the National Book Award which is a solid award and generally not given to works with the faults of Train Dreams.
>current book