[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ic/ - Artwork/Critique

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: 20240506_093959.jpg (98 KB, 941x926)
98 KB
98 KB JPG
I started drawing on February 25th, 2024. Initially, I copied various drawings from animes I liked, but eventually, I realized this approach wasn't working for me, so I switched to "Keys to Drawing." Despite the change, something still felt off about my drawing process.

I realized that I never talked to myself while drawing; instead, I mindlessly copied and observed without engaging in any practical dialogue or reflective thought. I always rushed my drawings without thinking deeply about what I was doing.

What's really challenging for me is to remain conscious while drawing. I tried to do this today but got distracted and slipped into autopilot. This demotivated me because, after three months of drawing, I realized I hadn't been actively thinking while drawing; I was just mindlessly copying and looking.

My question is, has anyone else experienced this issue? If so, should I just push through and try to draw consciously and patiently, or is there an underlying issue I need to address?
>>
>>7158178
honestly a lot of my best art was drawn unconsciously in flow state. Definitely try to get a routine in where you can think about everything, but it’s not that deep desu
>>
>just copy bro
Track down and flay alive whoever told you that.
>>
>>7158178