[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ck/ - Food & Cooking

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

What extra virgin olive oil brands are legit and not diluted shit?
>>
>>20442108
any of them that are cold pressed extra virgin olive oil. people overblow the filler oil shit a lot on here, usually the brands that are mixed with filler state it quite blatantly. blends are all shit.

Ive been consuming 1-2 TBSP of olive oil a day for almost fifteen years and Ive had all the generic brands and over a dozen expensive boutique ones. The expensive boutiques taste and smell better, but cheapo is servicable, even walmart brand.

where the game really changes are when you get olive oils from specific regions only. check on the bottle for country of origin, and origin of olives, they list this. you want olives from single locations for the best most unique flavors, no a bottle that comes from spain, italy, morocco, greece and turkey, for example. cheap brands use mixed country olives.
>>
File: file.png (169 KB, 810x810)
169 KB
169 KB PNG
Another thing to consider is that the oil may be pure olive oil, but not extra virgin -- just regular virgin, or sometimes not even virgin at all. The FDA doesn't regulate the classifications of olive oil, so companies are free to call their product whatever they want so long as it is made out of olives and is an oil.