[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/ck/ - Food & Cooking

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

I'm new to this and have tried it about 3 times now. After Day 2, there's a significant amount of doubling. Around Day 4, even after daily feedings, I don't get doubling anymore. I do get a small amount of hooch and it smells really good, but after a certain point it just doesn't seem to double anymore. There is still some small bubbling and the starter seems somewhat aerated. Is this normal for sourdough starters? I'm doing a 100% AP starter.
>>
>>20410265
Don't feed it every day unless you want it to grow exponentially every day. Personally, I mix it with my dough the day before I wanna make bread, that way the yeast can reactivate overnight. You wanna use nearly everything in the jar, because the yeast will repopulate itself just from the little bits that are left inside afterwards. Don’t be sparing with it
>>
>>20410430
Is my starter done though? I thought it was supposed to double every time you fed it. After the first few days, it doesn't double anymore. It is active, though.
>>
>>20410265
>>20411732