[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/xs/ - Extreme Sports

Name
Options
Comment
Verification
4chan Pass users can bypass this verification. [Learn More] [Login]
File
  • Please read the Rules and FAQ before posting.
  • There are 48 posters in this thread.

08/21/20New boards added: /vrpg/, /vmg/, /vst/ and /vm/
05/04/17New trial board added: /bant/ - International/Random
10/04/16New board for 4chan Pass users: /vip/ - Very Important Posts
[Hide] [Show All]

File: boxmuay.jpg (8 KB, 275x183)
8 KB
8 KB JPG
I have no former experience with martial arts, but want to start with either boxing or muay thai. Main objective is self defense. Which one would be the better choice?
Also, not sure if that's important, but the boxing gym closest to me says they teach "Cuban boxing".
>>
>>89218
muay thai if you wanna be uber fit
>>
>>89218
Whichever has you doing steady cardio
>>
>>89218

It is, Cuban boxing has won a lot on oly and has very good footwork

Your best bet is try them both, albeit thay is more complete
>>
>>89237
>very good footwork
Nice, the footwork is exactly one of the biggest strengths I'm seeing in boxing over mt.
>>
>>89218
Boxing footwork is superior on the streets. It'll keep you safe, pro boxers are masters of defensive movement combined with head movement pro boxers are almost impossible to hit.
>>
>>89241

Keep in mind that this is the theory, I can’t vouch for your specific coach as it could be a utter retard running a salsa fitboxe class.
Or be a oly trainer/trained. That’s for you to verify.