[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/tg/ - Traditional Games

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

What's the bare minimum a setting needs to be viable for running a campaign in?

I've been fucking around with worldbuilding for a while but I really do want to actually run a damn game in these worlds.
I keep getting distracted on all sorts of inconsequential rabbitholes, and while I definitely have the foundation of a setting coming together, I'm not that experienced with actually designing campaigns and adventures.

Wondering if anyone had some advice for this kind of stuff.
>>
File: sticky-notes 3.jpg (84 KB, 1000x750)
84 KB
84 KB JPG
>>
>>85542625
>What's the bare minimum a setting needs to be viable for running a campaign in?

>You meet in a tavern
>The innkeeper says there's been problems with goblins raiding the town
>>
>>85542625
Real life but x
>real life but zombies
>real life but vampires
>real life but all /x/ skinwalker stories are real and you can't go into the woods without having to murder or fuck at least dozen of them
>>
>>85542625
>bare minimum a setting needs
a place to fight
a place to not fight
someone to talk to
>>
>>85542625
I’m in the same boat as you, OP. My goal is to have the initial town where they stop first finished by session 0. After that I can develop whatever seems likely they will choose
>>
A small town (safe zone + resource trading site), a decent understanding of the immediate area, and a dungeon (structured adventure site). Players need to raid the latter to keep the former safe.
>>
>>85542737