[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/mu/ - Music

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

I mastered the 5 pentatonic shapes last weekend but how to flow between them effortlessly?
>>
>>114704175
what the fuck is that nonsense
should be a gif
>>
>>114704175
I am self-taught so forgive this very amateur explanation, but this helped me. Go from one shape to a sequential shape (either right or left) in different patterns. Diagonal helped me the most, but you can also make up your own patterns (zig-zags, down one shape and up the next one, etc)
>>
>>114704175
>how to flow between them effortlessly?
literally just keep playing up and down the neck switching between the adjacent shapes until it becomes automatic
>>
>>114704175
if you memorized shapes and not intervals, then you wasted your time
>>
>mastered

lol
>>
Try practicing the scale on just one string, then two, three, etc. Play down the road, not across the street.
>>
>>114704291
shapes before intervals speeds up the mechanical part of learning
>>
I memorized the english dictionary, how do I write Shakespeare?
>>
>>114704175
>shapes
>flow between
tried that before, and i tried so so many more things in the same vein, it never works

>>114704291
this is what worked
as obscure and random as it may seem, the only way to not be confined to shapes is to be able to jump to a certain note and rebuilding the rest of the scale from it
>>
>>114704245
wait you can jump between them?
how? I thought you can only use the one that's in the scale you're using in the song
>>