[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/g/ - Technology

[Advertise on 4chan]

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: hmc.png (96 KB, 489x858)
96 KB
96 KB PNG
Hello fa/g/gs, I'm kinda new to this whole programming thing, started learning C recently and I was wondering if any experienced cfaggs could give me some pointers (get it? >.< )

Pic related is part of my implementation of a hashmap in C. I'll spare you the details, you can read through the code yourself, it basically has a singly linked list at each slot of the the table so I can resolve collisions by just appending them to the linked list. If the key already exits it just updates the date field. The table doubles in size each time a certain threshold is exceeded although my memory management skills are very primitive, I don't even know how to properly free the old table after creating the bigger one and copying the elements.

Please look at the code and tell me what you think, what should I be doing better.
All of my friends are brainlets and I basically have no one to talk to about this stuff.
You can look at the code here:
https://codesandbox.io/s/affectionate-pine-nonti?file=/main.c
Or you can download it
wget https://files.catbox.moe/kbkiiq.zip
>>
>>83801246
forgot to mention if you want a bigger map at compile time you can do something like
 gcc -DMAP_SIZE=100[/code[
>>
>>83801246
>>
File: 1597088466603.png (1.03 MB, 1210x1958)
1.03 MB
1.03 MB PNG
>>83801297
it can't be that bad, r-right?
>>
>>83801337
just kidding, i dont know how to program
>>
>>83801246