[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vm / vmg / vr / vrpg / vst / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / pw / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / vt / wsg / wsr / x / xs] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/diy/ - Do It Yourself

[Advertise on 4chan]

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

[Advertise on 4chan]

File: catwheels.png (1.9 MB, 971x953)
1.9 MB
1.9 MB PNG
i want to make something like this but im a complete noob when it comes to workshopping. i did some classes in high school and made a table and stool and boxes but nothing with metal

what do i need? where do i get it? what's the spinning joint called?
ive tried googling but im getting water pressure joints and stuff
>>
Your going to need a welder. There's a few different kinds of welding processes out there, Arc welding is the cheapest, it will work with any old scabby piece of metal and you can do it outside, inside(with ventilation), etc. The downsides are you will have to practice a lot, maybe watch some guides read some books and it's filthy. You will have to clean up your welds to make them not look someone did a mister whippy on your metal.

A grinder and paint makes me the welder I ain't.

Mig is easier to do but you need more shit, maybe a gas bottle with all the fittings.

Tig is mostly for elitists and if you want to weld aluminium or stainless.

You would be better off making this whole thing out of wood, it's more forgiving if you fuck it up. Metal works are fun, definitely more costly.
>>
>>2259745
Try searching for things like bearing and spindle instead of joint.
>>
>>2259745
Just don't. It's gonna create noise like crazy.
If you really wanna, just get a tub.
>>
>>2259745
There's a bunch of ways you can go about this.