[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Mobile] [Home]
Board
Settings Mobile Home
/cgl/ - Cosplay & EGL

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

Is it weird to cosplay as an original character? What are your thoughts?
>>
Don't expect anyone to recognize who you are cosplaying as.
>>
I’ve done it for fun because canon material wasn’t doing it for me lately. Do it for you. Don’t expect anyone to really care unless it’s something elaborate.
>>
>>10402493
It would technically be a costume and not a cosplay. But if you want to do it then just do it.
>>
I have a few obscure costumes I'd like to wear that no one would know where it's from, so yeah I'd go for it for myself.
>>
hmm you could do it but you'd have to be able to survive the question
"hey anon, who are you cosplaying as?"
>>
I made a lot of OCs when I was a weeby teenager and my first boyfriend decided to go to a con as one of them. It was pretty embarrassing. Every time someone asked ‘’so what are you?’ He would excitedly grab me and say ‘I’m one of my GF’s characters! His name is ____!’
>>
>>10402493
I cosplayed my gaia oc years ago, some people recognized that it was gaia which was pretty fun.
shame that site is broken, especially during quarintine
>>
>>10402800
You sound ungrateful
>>
>>10402511
I don't agree. After all, cosplay is dressing up as other people's OCs.

I think the only real issue with cosplaying your own OC is if you're trying to enter a cosplay contest with it. Many don't even allow OCs.
>>