[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/sci/ - Science & Math

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

So I just started learning about Abstract Algebra and I'm curious to ask. Can you basically create your own algebraic structure such as a groups, rings, and fields? Like you make some arbitrary finite set and equip it with one or operators of any desired arity?
If i did this and if the structure becomes useful in some way could i write a paper about it?
>>
>>10718244
No. It doesn't have to be useful to write a paper about it. All you need is clear definitions. Never let your pure math be sullied by applicability to some problem domain.
>>
File: 220px-LebesgueH.gif (45 KB, 220x346)
45 KB
45 KB GIF
>>10718249
aaah I didnt think i would be advised by a pure math ubermensch such as yourself. I would do it for the sake of math itself. I was expecting engi bois to hurl feces at me.
>>
>nerd humour
*sigh*
>>
File: Calvinball.jpg (38 KB, 470x250)
38 KB
38 KB JPG
>>
Good luck finding something that it both original and interesting.
It doesn't have to be applicable, but it does need to have something interesting about it.
Chances are you will be recreating some structure that somebody has already created and studied in the past.
>>
>>10718458
Well the axioms could match up to any sort of structure but the point is using different operations and a paticular set that might turn out to be something interesting like some operarion with Z/nZ for some n in N
>>
>>10718244