[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/sci/ - Science & Math

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: Entry Level.png (23 KB, 591x404)
23 KB
23 KB PNG
How's the job search going for you?

I graduated 3 weeks ago, sent in 20 applications and I had one offer I had to refuse.

This "entry level" BS is starting to piss me off. I just apply anyway now.
>>
>>10646923
i applied to a phd program and ruined my life for 7 years, but now i’m in a cushy postdoc and finally will make enough to buy an engagement ring for my awesome gf who supported me the whole time

i’m happy af now. but it sucked balls to try to make it into academia. still trying to overcome my alcoholism and generally unhealthy lifestyle i adopted to make it through the better part of a decade. worth it tho
>>
>>10646970
*and by supported i mean emotionally. not financially
>>
>>10646970
phd in what field might i ask, and whyd it ruin your life
>>
>>10646977
physics. it ruins your life at least temporarily because you make shit money compared to peers who go into industry and you get treated like a slave. like being moved from city to city at your advisor’s will and staying up till 4 to make plots and slides that you need to make because of some stupid deadline that in reality you could just email whenever, but phd students need to fill the agendas

that’s after you go through the 2 years of blisteringly hard homeworks and exams that you work late into the night on and deliver to class at 9am, and even so all the chinese students all get 100 on magically while you only get a 90

whatever
>>
>>10646923