[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/lit/ - Literature

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: 1521369230324.png (225 KB, 513x497)
225 KB
225 KB PNG
Books about all the damage money and technology has done to the human race? I'm new to politics and the economy.
>>
>>13122509
I'd recommend starting from Marx's Das Kapital and the Critique of Political Economy working your way up to Freudo-Marxists and posmarxists such as Lukacs, Bataille, Adorno and other authors like Debord and Baudrillard.
If you want some technological determinism just go to Mcluhan, Understanding Media: The Extensions of Man or even Paul Virilio, The Vision Machine.
Just be aware that any of these authors are an easy read.
The great transformation by Karl Polanyi might also help. I'd actually say this is a work that everybody should have read already.
I hope you can get through my shit english. Good luck.
>>
>>13122584
I'll look into all of those, thanks.
>>
Revelation of St. John
>>
Heidegger's confrontation with modernity: Technology, politics and art, by Michael E. Zimmerman.
>>
File: DenmWihXcAAHTdS.jpg (38 KB, 526x152)
38 KB
38 KB JPG
>I'm new to politics and the economy

Verily i say unto you, dear anon, do not lose yourself in meaningless politics. If I may ask of you, so humbly, to search out the embers of our great poets so as to stoke a flame of passion within you. For there is much more in the works of Blake and of our Bard than in these foul men, bewitched by language.
>>
>>13123234
Blake was political af, he corresponded with Thomas Paine and wore the bonnet rouges to support the French Revolution.
>>