[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/g/ - Technology

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: python.png (157 KB, 2000x2000)
157 KB
157 KB PNG
I have some knowledge of the HTML, CSS languages (I know, I know) but I dont know dick about object-oriented ones. Baby's fiwst wanguage.
>>
Depends on what you want to use it for. If you want webdev, learn JavaScript first, then come back and ask the same question. A good resource that teaches JS, reviews html/CSS AND teaches Python is the free CS50s webdev course by Harvard. You can enroll (free) or just watch their videos/project assignments on the CS50 website (also free) or their jewtube channel. If what you want is data science there's a popular course by IBM called Python for data science or something like that. They're all on edx
>>
Pick up some book or a course. (google is your friend here) Do what it says.
>>
>>69325524
if i want to build an app for myself to retrieve data and the like would I need to build a UI or could I do it through a terminal. Sorry if retarded question.
>>
>>69325576
You can do anything through the terminal, but sometimes you need a gui for ease of use. I recommend this book https://greenteapress.com/wp/think-python-2e/ coupled with this course https://www.edx.org/course/python-basics-for-data-science-ibm. There's a lot of other popular free courses on coursera and Udacity, like Python for Everyone by the university of Michigan
>>
>>69325667
thanks! python 2 or 3?
>>
>>69325763
>>
>>69325483
Learn a proper language
>>
>>69325763
2 is antiquated and will hit end of life on 2020-01-01.
>>
>>69325899