[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/diy/ - Do It Yourself

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: yet.jpg (640 KB, 2215x1527)
640 KB
640 KB JPG
I'm new to electronics. Opened old broken TV receiver up and I see a lot of buttons, a number display, LEDs.. Can I solder these off, collect them and use them in projects (e.g. Arduino)?

In general, is this possible? I have an old alarm clock with a numbers display, buttons and LEDs. Am wondering whether I can just solder these off, collect them all and then just use them in personal projects! Thanks
>>
>>1626845

In most developed countries it's illegal to solder things off and put them in something else.
>>
Sure. It's usually not worth it with stuff like that.
Buttons and LEDs like these cost a fraction of a cent.
Segment displays can be a bit pricier.
>>
>>1626845

Of course you can.

>>1626849

No.
>>
File: ahmed-mohamed-clock.jpg (37 KB, 596x283)
37 KB
37 KB JPG
>>1626845
Absolutely. This is the kind of science that makes America great!
>>
>>1626845

Not only is it possible, it's encouraged. It's a more efficient way of recycling old boards than what's done at recycling centers. As long as you protect your lungs from fumes when desoldering it's free treasure. Some components are too cheap to bother with, but there are goodies like special ICs and brand-name sockets
>>
>>1626849
>>1626850
>>1626854
>>1626873
>>1626880

Good to know, thank you! I found out the display is a BQ-M332RD and apparently there's some specsheets online, but I haven't found anyone using it in combination with arduino. Is that even possible?
>>
>>1626845