[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/diy/ - Do It Yourself

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: tenor.gif (887 KB, 220x272)
887 KB
887 KB GIF
So I got lucky anon.
The library I work for just got a 3D printer that I can use 10 hours a day and my first project is gonna be an Arcade Stick. Sadly I have no experience modeling or making stl files needed. But here is my pitch.

First thing I went to was thinkverse and Google to see what they got but did not get inspired. However I saw two that caught my eye to frankanstine a design from:

The Hori Fighting Edge redesign by FoeHammer
https://youtu.be/jg_dP55_4JU

Qanba Crystal
https://youtu.be/trAtpeaZxkU

Essentially it would look like this wooden take on the FoeHammer Hori Fighting Edge but with a side panel that the Qanba Crystal has on its right side.
I have almost no experience making a model to represent my idea but it would be amazing to try and I could use the help. I could use colored buttons on the side for options and to access the guts I would make a standard board to unscrew from the bottom to make further mods and put in a Brook UFB.
>>
>my first project is gonna be an Arcade Stick

>I have no experience

Do more research.

Step 1: Find out how to build an arcade stick the traditional way. Think about the electronics, buttons, and joystick assembly. Those won't be printed unless you're a genius.

Step 2: Print a fucking cube before you dive into the deep end. Then print some useless trinkets from Thingiverse. Doesn't matter what printer your library has (unless it's a makerbot) but you have to learn how to 3d print stuff first.