[a / b / c / d / e / f / g / gif / h / hr / k / m / o / p / r / s / t / u / v / vg / vr / w / wg] [i / ic] [r9k / s4s / vip / qa] [cm / hm / lgbt / y] [3 / aco / adv / an / asp / bant / biz / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / fit / gd / hc / his / int / jp / lit / mlp / mu / n / news / out / po / pol / qst / sci / soc / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / vp / wsg / wsr / x] [Settings] [Search] [Home]
Board
Settings Home
/adv/ - Advice

Thread archived.
You cannot reply anymore.

File: 1544074607053.jpg (274 KB, 848x1200)
274 KB
274 KB JPG
So i graduated from a technical it highschool but i without passion i barely made the programming classes.

after graduating i wanted to do something completely different, which is why i started language studies. i stopped studying, think partly because of my low self esteem. i have been in many jobs since then mostly parttime, from desktop support to retail etc.

a month ago i got a job in a junior billing position in a big company, which requires scripting in python/perl and also knowledge in sql and stuff. i have been able to learn a little bit on the job in this month.

i decided to continue my studies because i am sure my passion does not lie in coding/it, more in languages, and drawing stuff, haha..

but i need money, even then i am wondering if i should quit this job, as i dont see a future in this area and i wont be motivated to continue studying code.. (also i should be able to substitute my colleague in cases, he is a cs graduate and seems to have stress for quite often until now)

not sure, anyway i am very nervous right now, thanks for reading
>>
>>20326960
>but i need money

Is pretty much the crux of the situation. Do you have any immediate alternatives? Jumping ship without another ship to go to is not wise.

As far as passion goes, I've met very few people that are passionate about their job. Doing what you love is nice, but most people either never get the chance or the price is too high.
>>